ServSafe PROGRAMS

ServSafe FAQ's + ResourcesLess
ServSafe FAQ's + Resources

Whom do I contact for customer service?

CLICK HERE for ServSafe Customer Care.


Where do I find a class and exams?

CLICK HERE to find ServSafe training, proctors and exams in your area.


How does ServSafe compare to other food safety programs?

To understand why ServSafe is the nation's leading foodservice-safety training program, CLICK HERE.


How do I become a trainer or proctor?

CLICK HERE to become a Certified ServSafe Instructor, Registered ServSafe Proctor or Re-certified ServSafe Instructor.


What are Ohio's Food Safety Regulations?

View the State of Ohio's Food Safety Regulations.


Where can I find Ohio's Uniform Food Safety Code?

Click here for the full code. 


What are Ohio's Alcohol Regulations?

Follow this link to view the State of Ohio's Link to Alcohol Regulations page: http://Codes.Ohio.Gov/Oac/4301:1-1


Is Food Safety Manager Certification required in Ohio?

Foodservice and alcohol training and certification are not required or “mandated” by the state. However, ServSafe training is considered a best practice for foodservice operations and those serving alcohol and is strongly recommended by the Ohio Restaurant Association.


What are the seat time requirements?

Trainees must attend 15 hours of training and pass exam.

What are the instructor requirements?

Minimum of 4 years of training or teaching experience, or 4 years of foodservice industry, health, or related experience; and the completion of an approved course in certification with a passing score. ServSafe is an approved course.

Are ServSafe Print and Online programs approved by the State of Ohio?

Yes.


What are Ohio Food Handler Requirements?

The manager has to ensure employees are trained in food safety as it relates to their assigned duties. Contact information at bottom of page.


Is Alcohol Safety Manager Certification required in Ohio?

No. It's voluntary.

What are the instructor requirements?

ServSafe Alcohol Approved Instructor

Is Manager Certification required?

Manager Certification is not required. However, ServSafe training is considered a best practice for food service operations and those serving alcohol and is strongly recommended by the Ohio Restaurant Association.

Re-certification Requirements:


Certification is permanent. Your ServSafe instructor will submit your test scores to the Ohio Department of Health (ODH.) The ODH will issue a laminated certification card, which does not expire. The ODH will mail the laminated certification cards directly to the instructor for distribution. Students taking the online course would have to submit their score directly to the Ohio Department of Health to request a laminated card. ServSafe Certification is good for five years.

Mitigating Benefits

In considering whether to suspend or revoke a permit, or in issuing an order allowing a permit holder to elect to pay a fine, the liquor control commission shall consider whether the permit holder and the permit holder's employees have successfully completed an alcohol server training program.

Whom do I contact for customer service?

CLICK HERE for ServSafe Customer Care.


Where do I find a class and exams?

CLICK HERE to find ServSafe training, proctors and exams in your area.


How does ServSafe compare to other food safety programs?

To understand why ServSafe is the nation's leading foodservice-safety training program, CLICK HERE.


How do I become a trainer or proctor?

CLICK HERE to become a Certified ServSafe Instructor, Registered ServSafe Proctor or Re-certified ServSafe Instructor.


What are Ohio's Food Safety Regulations?

View the State of Ohio's Food Safety Regulations.


Where can I find Ohio's Uniform Food Safety Code?

Click here for the full code. 


What are Ohio's Alcohol Regulations?

Follow this link to view the State of Ohio's Link to Alcohol Regulations page: http://Codes.Ohio.Gov/Oac/4301:1-1


Is Food Safety Manager Certification required in Ohio?

Foodservice and alcohol training and certification are not required or “mandated” by the state. However, ServSafe training is considered a best practice for foodservice operations and those serving alcohol and is strongly recommended by the Ohio Restaurant Association.


What are the seat time requirements?

Trainees must attend 15 hours of training and pass exam.

What are the instructor requirements?

Minimum of 4 years of training or teaching experience, or 4 years of foodservice industry, health, or related experience; and the completion of an approved course in certification with a passing score. ServSafe is an approved course.

Are ServSafe Print and Online programs approved by the State of Ohio?

Yes.


What are Ohio Food Handler Requirements?

The manager has to ensure employees are trained in food safety as it relates to their assigned duties. Contact information at bottom of page.


Is Alcohol Safety Manager Certification required in Ohio?

No. It's voluntary.

What are the instructor requirements?

ServSafe Alcohol Approved Instructor

Is Manager Certification required?

Manager Certification is not required. However, ServSafe training is considered a best practice for food service operations and those serving alcohol and is strongly recommended by the Ohio Restaurant Association.

Re-certification Requirements:

Certification is permanent. Your ServSafe instructor will submit your test scores to the Ohio Department of Health (ODH.) The ODH will issue a laminated certification card, which does not expire. The ODH will mail the laminated certification cards directly to the instructor for distribution. Students taking the online course would have to submit their score directly to the Ohio Department of Health to request a laminated card. ServSafe Certification is good for five years.

Mitigating Benefits

In considering whether to suspend or revoke a permit, or in issuing an order allowing a permit holder to elect to pay a fine, the liquor control commission shall consider whether the permit holder and the permit holder's employees have successfully completed an alcohol server training program.

Less

Student Resource --> find a class, instructor or proctor:

Ohio State University Extension Instructors, Proctors And Classes By County ServSafe® 6th Edition New Content From The FDA Food Code Update Student Version CLICK HERE.


​Instructor Resource Center:

CLICK HERE for the resource center. CLICK HERE to download the information on becoming a Certified Instructor & Registered Proctor.


Learn how to become ServSafe food safety re-certified:

CLICK HERE


​Customer Care and Help --> exams and certifications:

CLICK HERE


​Ohio Department Of Health:

614.466.1390

​Local Health Departments 


​Ohio alcohol regulations:

State of Ohio, Alcohol Regulations page


State Liquor Authority:

Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Liquor Control

6606 Tussing Road

Reynoldsburg, Ohio 43068

Phone: 614.644.2360, Fax: 614.644.3166

Email: Restep@Notes.Liquor.State.Oh.Us

Website: www.com.ohio.gov/liqr/

Student Resource --> find a class, instructor or proctor:

Ohio State University Extension Instructors, Proctors And Classes By County ServSafe® 6th Edition New Content From The FDA Food Code Update Student Version CLICK HERE.

​Instructor Resource Center:

CLICK HERE for the resource center. CLICK HERE to download the information on becoming a Certified Instructor & Registered Proctor.

Learn how to become ServSafe food safety re-certified:

CLICK HERE

​Customer Care and Help --> exams and certifications:

CLICK HERE

​Ohio Department Of Health:

614.466.1390

​Local Health Departments 


​Ohio alcohol regulations:

State of Ohio, Alcohol Regulations page


State Liquor Authority:

Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Liquor Control

6606 Tussing Road

Reynoldsburg, Ohio 43068

Phone: 614.644.2360, Fax: 614.644.3166

Email: Restep@Notes.Liquor.State.Oh.Us

Website: www.com.ohio.gov/liqr/

Less
Return to ServSafe main page